U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Reallocation of Byrne JAG Funding

The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (AWA) established a penalty for jurisdictions that failed to substantially implement the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) by July 27, 2011, and for any year thereafter. The AWA further provided that funding penalty amounts shall be reallocated to eligible jurisdictions that have substantially implemented SORNA or may be reallocated to a jurisdiction from which they were withheld to be used solely to work toward SORNA implementation.

The following jurisdictions applied for reallocation of the funding penalty in 2019 to work solely toward furthering SORNA implementation activities and efforts: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Utah, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Date Published: March 6, 2020